Miss Me In May

Standard

Sometimes I stop to smell the flowers… and just stay there. I think the hardest part of being unemployed and looking for a job is the depression and anxiety… And I get distracted from things I need to do because I’m busy distracting myself from the D/A. I promised myself when I started this that I’d keep going. And I fully intend to! I just had to give myself a swift kick in the pants and hopefully I’m back on course!

Summer has fully set in at the MidMod house and we’ve been putting our alls into the yard and garden! The walk got a fresh coat of paint and, to the our happy astonishment, looks like we poured new concrete instead! (For which I am truly happy seeing as I can hardly stand a painted walk!) What’s more, not twenty minutes after we’d finished and hied ourselves off for showers did it come pouring down!

It was just a torrent of rain. Heavy, large drops crashing down while thunder rumbled and boomed about… all the while it was brightly sunny. We’re very lucky – the heat had already baked the paint and our efforts weren’t for waste.

On and on and on… steam rising and filling the air. Such a nice way to end a hot summers day. We even were the proud recipients of a stunningly bright and dazzling rainbow or two. (I couldn’t get a clear shot of the double rainbow while we were driving. Poo.)

We sure could use that again! Not that yesterday’s windstorm wasn’t helpful for cooling off, but our newly planted flowers in our newly tilled garden could use some hearty rain full of nutrients! The spiderwort is looking rather ragged and the daylillies are displeased with being transplanted on such a hot weekend.

Between planting things and painting walks, we’ve had some pretty exciting weekends this last month, what with the Blue Angels flying over head…

The light was poor but you can just make out US NAVY on the wing. All 6 of them, right over the top of the house in the final formation. Scared the wits out of the cats and sent them scrambling to hide under cars and bushes. We got a few photos, but most didn’t come out – too overcast and too fast moving.

Last week I learned how to make the non-lap cat into a lap cat. The secret, at least with Miss Capa, is give her a bath! She’ll find her damp way into your dry lap and nest there for an hour. Of course, it meant I had to change pants (again) but it was worth it.

Speaking of worth it! The baby blanket finally arrived in Okinawa (a month later than planned)! I think Kassi likes the bunny more than the blanket and I really wish I’d thought to put a bell or a rattle in its head before stitching it all together. (Maybe next time?) She shakes it around until she lets go of it and it flies off somewhere for her to chase. Reminds me of my cat who likes to play fetch… with herself.

I’m looking forward to seeing them in just a few short weeks. Plans are set and lips are sealed. Surprises await.

Also working on a new hooky project in the form of a Catherine Wheel bag…

Something fun for summer and it’ll allow me experience lining a crochet piece.

Yesterday I took some time to tramp through the woods and experience nature, uncultivated. Five miles of happy trailing filled with rocky river beds and some amazing massive sinkholes… (few of which I got photos of because my battery was dying)… and one teeny tiny…

Mini-mantis! And some wonderful areas of where water sometimes moves…

Phew that was a lot going on… Maybe I’m not so lazy after all? Yeah, I don’t believe myself either. Really enjoying my chair and vantage point… especially as I just watched a woman in a silver Ford stop in front of my house, climb out of the car, and steal the local newspaper out of my driveway in broad daylight.

My dog is giving me the nap-time-eyes and I think I’ll join him. Hope everyone has had a happy May!

Warm regards,
Am

Leave a Reply

